Poet and Scholar

October 20, 2006

Emerson explains why you should read my blog

Filed under: Uncategorized — hopperguy @ 3:27 pm

If anybody is still out there checking in, I can now explain why I have not been posting as much as I (and maybe you) would have liked. I was frozen by not knowing exactly what I wanted the blog to be. More precisely, I knew that I wanted to write in here my cultural commentary, but I didn’t know how to convince people why my blog would be more with their while than the myriad other ones that clutter the Web. Then today, while reading Emerson, I found his quote about the great writers: “Their opinion has weight, because they had means of knowing the opposite opinion.” That is the crux of why I think that this blog has a place in the arena of letters. In this day and age of “snark” and people navel-gazing on the Web, I offer you instead thoughtful reasoned opinions that consider not only my own, but where mine fit in the spectrum of opinions that one might have on things.

Also, I’ve just been ungodly busy at my day job. So, sorry I haven’t posted more. But even this little one is a start. And now that I have found my justification, maybe I can find my voice.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.